Recommended Star

Dickens Before Sound DVD

Various , 1878-1922


RRP: £24.99
You save £15 (60%)

Add to Basket

This item is in stock and will be dispatched within 48 hours. Delivery timesUsually 1-2 days to reach UK addresses. Europe takes around 2 days longer and International destinations take 1-2 weeks

FREE to UK addresses.
Costs to other countriesUK: Free
Western Europe: £1.38
Rest of the world: £2.06

Returns Policy
If you are unhappy with your purchase, you can return it to us within 14 days. More details

Your Rating


1 Review // 1 List

Film Details

Directed by Various

Produced in 1878-1922

Main Language - SILENT

Countries & Regions - British Film, American film

MovieMail's Review

This collection is a feast of Dickensiana with surviving extracts from some of the very earliest film adaptations of his work. Of particular note are films from DW Griffith, RW Paul, and the extracts from Thomas Bentley's lovely 1913 version of David Copperfield, praised at the time for “its pictorialism, realism and fidelity”.
Also featured is a sort of ‘blue plaque’ tour of Dickens’ London circa 1924, complete with some evocative re-imaginings of the characters. The set also has the first Dickensian sound film with Bransby Williams presenting Grandfather Smallweed’s monologue from ‘Bleak House’. The undoubted highlight though is Frank Lloyd’s 1922 version of Oliver Twist, starring 5 year-old Jackie Coogan as Oliver and 'man of a thousand faces’ Lon Chaney as Fagin. The settings are excellent and Coogan turns in a brilliant, instinctive performance, impish and pathetic by turns. The film also has some surprising effects, as when Oliver dreams of a dancing bowl and spoon after he has asked for more. It's in a nicely tinted print and is accompanied by a new score from Neil Brand.

Anonymous on 11th August 2006
Author of 299 reviews

Dickens Before Sound Dickens Before Sound

Film Description

A unique collection of early adaptations of one of Britain's favourite authors. A unique and exciting collection from the BFI that unearths many rare and invaluable films from the vaults. Features Gabriel Grub (1878), A Christmas Carol (1901), The Cricket On The Hearth (1909), Oliver Twist (1909), The Boy And The Convict (1909), Nicholas Nickleby (1912), Pickwick Papers (1913), David Copperfield (1913), Oliver Twist (1922) (with Jackie Coogan and Lon Chaney), Dickens' London (1924), and the first Dickensian talkie - Bransby William's monologue as Grandfather Smallweed from Bleak House (1926).

DVD Details

Certificate: E

Publisher: BFI

Length: 171 mins

Aspect ratio: 1.33:1

Format: DVD B&W

Region: 2

Released: 28th August 2006

Cat No: BFIVD526

DVD Extras

  • 2 discs
  • Fully illustrated 40-page booklet with an introduction, notes on each film and original production stills
  • Spoken word performance by Ken Campbell of Dickens' original text over Gabriel Grub and The Pickwick Papers
  • Voiceover commentary by screenwriter Michael Eaton on 'The Cricket on the Hearth'
  • Downloadable essay by Dickens scholar Graham Petrie.

Film Stills

Dickens Before Sound Dickens Before Sound

View Gallery

Community Reviews


1 films

Create your own list

People who liked Dickens Before Sound

Customers who liked this also liked...

Related Films

Also from director Various

View all Various films

More from publisher BFI


Also Available from the Cast

Lon Chaney

Jackie Coogan