An Unflinching Eye: The Films of Richard Woolley DVD

Richard Woolley, 1988


RRP: £29.99
You save £20 (66%)

Add to Basket

On order, dispatched within 5-10 days. Delivery timesUsually 5-7 days to reach UK addresses... Europe takes around 2 days longer and International destinations take 1-2 weeks

FREE to UK addresses.
Costs to other countriesUK: Free
Western Europe: £1.62
Rest of the world: £2.44

Returns Policy
If you are unhappy with your purchase, you can return it to us within 14 days. More details

Your Rating


1 Review // 0 Lists

Film Details

Directed by Richard Woolley

Produced in 1988

Main Language - English

Countries & Regions - British Film

Film Description

Between 1970 and 1988 British filmmaker Richard Woolley created a body of exciting and challenging work, variously seen in cinemas, on television and in international film festivals, but almost impossible to see since. These seven films have now been collected together in this box set.

Tackling controversial themes, such as class, race, sexuality and the human instinct for violence, Richard Woolley directed a number of radical and uncompromising films, which explore the ways we relate to, and ultimately destroy, one another even as we strive to develop the means to better understand and communicate with those around us.

This collection offers the long-overdue opportunity to experience first hand the power of such extraordinary and unique films as 1976's Illusive Crime, which caused outrage upon its release; Telling Tales, the much acclaimed soap-meets-Straub debut feature from 1978, 1981’s controversial and critically-acclaimed Brothers and Sisters, set against a backdrop of Yorkshire Ripper-style murders; and Woolley’s final film, Girl from the South (1988) which views black Britons through the prism of an interracial relationship.

Contains: Kniephofstrasse (1973, 35 mins): A complex and compelling formalist film, which investigates the relationship between sound and image.

Drinnen und Draussen / Inside and Outside (1974, 40 mins): An experimental narrative film exploring conformity in East and West Germany.

Illusive Crime (1976, 50 mins): An uncompromising, originally structured drama in which a violent sexual act is committed.

Telling Tales (1978, 90 mins): A deft interweaving of stories, set against backdrop of failing marriage, provides platform for dissection of class and gender roles.

Brothers and Sisters (1981, 96 mins): Radical politics meet alternative thriller in the story of a prostitute’s murder in a Yorkshire city.

Waiting for Alan (1984, 45 mins): An unconventional, minutely-observed domestic drama centred on ritualised boredom of a middle-class housewife.

Girl from the South (1988, 84 mins): A young girl from rich family falls in love with unemployed black boy and tries to persuade him they are equals.

DVD Details

Certificate: 15

Publisher: BFI

Length: 450 mins

Format: DVD Colour

Region: 2

Released: 28th March 2011

Cat No: BFIVD917

DVD Extras

  • 4 discs
  • New video interviews with Richard Woolley.

Community Reviews

by Madson on 23rd February 2011

The appearance of this boxset of Richard Woolleys films is a unique opportunity for collectors to add the work of one Britains most original but rarely seen filmmake... Read on


Create your own list

People who liked An Unflinching Eye: The Films of Richard Woolley

Customers who liked this also liked...

Related Films

Also from director Richard Woolley

View all Richard Woolley films

More from publisher BFI